Chakra healing

Chakra healing is the art of identifying the imbalance between chakras and then working towards balancing those chakras.

Chakra meaning

Chakra means wheel in Sanskrit. A chakra could be seen as a vortex also.

Don’t think that such a physical wheel exists in the human body. Chakras can be compared with a series of metaphysical junction boxes starting from the lower end of spine region ending at the top of the head.

When these junction boxes or wheels are active, various type of emotions manifests through our mind. If these wheels are inactive, then the opposite happens.

Lust, anger, craving for food, compassion, love, kindness, sincerity, determination – all these are based on these chakras in our body. These chakras are cantered on the spinal cord and are connected with the “nadis” or subtle energy channels which carry the life-sustaining prana or life force.

Another important aspect of the chakras is that they are connected with the internal organs in the human body. They are otherwise the well-being centres of our body. Thus, chakra healing involves bringing all the chakras into its full potential.

Chakra Ayurwoman Aurveda Clinic


The seven Chakras

  1. Mooladhara or Root Chakra
    • Mooladhara chakra is located at the base of the spinal cord.
    • This chakra is connected with birth problems, survival pattern, generations, food, money, health, sex, etc. Mooladhara chakra also defines relations with the near and dear ones. Such relations are more if this chakra is active and you are satisfied with these relations. Opposite happen if this chakra is dull or inactive.
  2. Manipura or Sacral Chakra
    • The sacral chakra is located just below the belly button.
    • This chakra is related to nature of relationships, sex, freedom from guilt feeling arising from the actions, creativity, talent, pleasure and sensation. As an example, when this chakra is closed you have a feeling that sex and related actions are bad. If this chakra is open or active, you believe pleasure can be utilized effectively for your personal growth
  3. Swadhistana or Solar Plexus chakra
    • Solar Plexus chakra is located above the navel.
    • Here, you are more confident, closer to you inner being. Self-confidence, personal power, freedom of thoughts, self-esteem and everything centered with the self, emerge. Leadership qualities start from this point.
  4. Anahata or Heart Chakra
    • Heart chakra is located at the heart
    • A compassionate nature with a good understanding of others, other’s feelings etc. are related with this chakra. You have a good mind to grasp other’s emotions and act accordingly. Acceptance and forgiveness are your nature if this chakra is open. When this chakra is closed or inactive, the opposite happens.
  5. Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra
    • Throat chakra as the name signifies is located at the throat.
    • The throat is considered as one of the powerful organs in the human body. In the science of chakra healing, throat symbolizes your truthfulness. Willpower, honesty, good communication, listening power, patience etc. emerge from this point. All our thoughts and actions are expressed through words.
  6. Ajna or Third Eye Chakra
    • Third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows or at the “third eye” position.
    • Once the energy reaches here, intuition and psychic powers start manifesting. You are somewhat beyond the normal individuals. You start seeing yourself in others.
  7. Sahasrara or Crown Chakra
    • Crown chakra is located at the top of our head
    • This is the destination of the series of seven chakras in our body. This is the culmination point where the individual merges with the divine or godliness. You are no more an individual but are merged with the universal consciousness.

How are chakras interrelated

The first three chakras are chakras of physical matter. Last three chakras are of spiritual matter. The fourth chakra in the sequence which is Anahata chakra or Heart chakra is the link or connector between the physical and spiritual chakras.

Chakra healing

As mentioned previously, chakras are in a perfect rhythm or balance in an ideal situation. But this perfect balance is seldom achieved and imbalances manifest as physical and emotional issues. So, the essence of chakra healing is creating a balance. One way to achieve a balance of chakras is Yoga asana.

Identifying the chakra imbalance is the start of chakra healing process. Individual must then learn and practice the most appropriate yoga asana to bring the chakra imbalance into equilibrium.

While this might sound simple and straight, it is highly recommended to get in touch with a yoga guru who is experienced in chakra healing.

Chakra healing through yoga

Now, let us see how these affect our daily life. We all know that we have all these feelings stated above. All these can be controlled through yoga practice. How? Each asana directly or indirectly affects one or more chakra. When asanas are practiced, it automatically affects the internal body organs.

For example, the bow pose or dhanurasana affects the digestive parts of the body, including the abdomen. It enables the chakras below the heart so that they don’t malfunction. When the digestion is proper in the body, it changes the state of the mind. This means, when asanas are practiced, it in effect opens the chakra of that particular location and then it reflects the mental state by controlling the emotion.

Thus, it implies that you customise your yoga routine through chakra healing to get maximum benefit.

It is really interesting to know that yoga asanas have direct influence on the emotions of human beings. Chakras in your body are healed with regular yoga practice! The power of yoga asanas lies in activating these energy centres called Chakras. The science of Yoga believes that the whole human potential lies below the spinal cord. With regular practices of yoga, this energy is raised by the yogi and is taken to the crown – the top of the head which can be termed as a path to ultimate self-consciousness.